Evergreen State College: The Chickens are Coming Home to Roost

Evergreen State College: The Chickens are Coming Home to Roost

Faculty and administrators are reaping what they sowed.

June 9, 2017
Jack Kerwick
43
AddThis Sharing Buttons

evf.jpg?itok=NoxjLGfs

When I was a teenager, I spent much of my time getting involved in all sorts of things that I should have avoided, and knew then that I should have avoided.

One of these activities was fist fighting.

It’s been many years since I was a teenager, and nearly as many years since I’ve been in a physical confrontation with anyone. At 21, I renewed the baptismal promises of my childhood faith of (Roman Catholic) Christianity and redirected my life, turning from my own little selfish world to that of politics and education.

What I never could have imagined all of those years ago, and what I still couldn’t have imagined until quite recently, is that American politics generally and Higher Education specifically would become fertile ground for the very violence from which, I was delusional enough to once think, they would provide relief.

The student-thuggery that cowardly administrators and faculty have permitted, indeed, have encouraged, at colleges and universities around the country is one such topic that makes this academic’s blood boil.

http://www.frontpagemag.com/fpm/266935/evergreen-state-college-chickens-are-coming-home-jack-kerwick

